People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making

What determines our behaviors? There are many factors contributing to our actions. As to the claim that our behavior is largely determined by forces not of ourselves, though it seems plausible to some degree, I still could not agree much with it.

First of all, people’s behaviors are a function of various forces, including our own mind and the outside forces. As a member of certain groups, it is natural that our behavior are influenced by others’ of the inference groups. For example, if our surrounding people all begin to talk about a new television programme or use new types of cellphones, we are tend to watch the programme or change our cellphones even if we are not interested in them. Since we do not want to be excluded from the circle, we are usually unconsciously simulating others. Furthermore, according to related studies, emotions could be contagious; so it is no wonder that the phenomenon caused by “herd effect” happen quite often, especially in the financial market.

However, these situations do not mean that our behaviors are totally determined by outer forces so that we could do nothing but conform with the natural trend. As the most intelligent animals( until now)in the world, we are superior than other species in that we are able to act out of our wills. If we are definite and determined enough to manage our emotions, we would not feel too anxious when others are in a panic, instead we would quickly calm down and figure out a way to resolve the problem. In addition, if all our decisions are not made by ourselves, then many people may act the same, and we lose our individual features as a result. This is quite absurd, for our world is always filled with various colors as well as opinions.

As I mentioned at the beginning, it is true that people’s behaviors are largely influenced by the social environment, but ambitious people usually have clear target in their minds when they behave something against their wills in calculation. For politicians, they have to make some compromises or perform artificially in order to achieve their political ends.It is the same in business circle. After all, people behave in a particular way due to their own wills.

Most times, the decisions are made based on a more comprehensive consideration of the situation.For example, when Roosevelt declared war against Japan after their attack on Pearl Harbour, though it may seem to be an angry reaction to their sneak raid, the America itself may not tolerant the cruel crimes they have done any longer. The victory is sure to be achieved by the justice side, just sooner or later. In this way,the declaration,which seems to be determined by stimulation from the outside, was a decision out of American people’s will inherently.

In sum, although people’s behavior is largely influenced by outer forces, we could not deny the fact that they are in fact determined by people’s own wills.As a matter of fact, it is a combination of people’s characteristics, target, courage and the specific situations.