People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What determines a person's behavior, has been an issue for debate for a long time. From genetic engineers to psychologist to sociologist have been trying to find the definite answer for decades. Whether it is person's surrounding factor, or his or her own decision, that shape their behavior and personality has been debated many times and still puzzles specialists. According to author, anyone's behavior is largely determined by other forces than his or her own decision making. It is difficult to response to this assertion in simple words. For me, people's own decision making has more to do.

One of the biggest enigma regarding human behavior phenomenon is 'Nature vs. Nurture'. Whether a person makes his own mark or is it determined by their environmental forces is a matter of discussion. It is true that a person's genetic factors, environment, family, privileges all play a role in building up a significant behavioral pattern. But humans are not only dependent on their environmental forces. They have been gifted with the power to reason, to understand, weigh their choices and make their own decision. If our behavior was determined by forces in spite of our choices, then we still would have been living in caves. We could not have made the choices that moved us forward, that shaped our behavior.

Even in families, where children are given the same opportunities and same privileges (which act as forces), not two siblings ever show same patterns of behavior. As much as they are influenced by those forces, their behaviors are also productions of their choices, their makings.

Take Oprah Winfrey for example. An African-American woman, born into poverty, deprived of privileges and exploited. Every force in her life was against her. But later in life she made herself into one of the most influential people in the world. If her behavior was determined bu the forces of her life, it would have been a submissive one. But she made her own choices, and possessed behavior reflecting leadership and influence.

Cunter-argument can come in a form like, Oprah is one in a million. And for everybody, it is not the same. Sure she is an exceptional. But we are all given choices infront of us either to give in to the forces or rise up or million other choices. It is those choices, those makings that help us establish our own identity.

In conclusion, it can not be denied that forces around us play a vital role in determination of our behavior. But it is hard to succumb to the notion that they play larger role than our own makings in flourishing our behavior. It is possible that our own makings play larger role than our surrounding forces, and it is those makings that determine our pattern of behavior.