People's behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making

People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making, I agree with this statement. Most of the time people behavior is response to external situation. If they are treated good, they will be good to that person and to the contrary, if they are disdained by someone they will tend to avoid or hate that person.

Most of the time people react rather than response. They don't think whether the response they are rendering is correct or not. It is as if the external factors are modelling their behaviour. For instance, in a restaurant, there were some ladies sitting at the table and an insect appeared at their table. They started shouting and screaming, creating a chaos in the restaurant. They reacted to the situation. Now, a waiter appeared, took a card from table and put the insect on it, taking the insect out. That is how he responded. And creating an end to all the chaos. If we look back, the response of the ladies was certainly not required. They could have responded well; had they thought through like the waiter did.

Consider another example: Whenever you are criticized you feel angry and you would feel like doing the same to opposite person. Here, an external behaviour is forcing your internal decision about how to react to criticizing. If you listen carefully without judging, you would know that other person has got a point there. And, instead of criticizing, you would try to listen to those points and improve upon them.

Well, it is true that most people are inclined to show above mentioned behaviour. However, not all the people react in same way. Some people think through before reacting like the waiter did and it really calms down the situation. Thus, it is the best way to respond.

In conclusion I would like to say that behaviour of the people is often shaped by external forces. Instead, if they think through, they would be able to contain the situation in a better way.