A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In the world filled with a plethora of crimes, there is a surrounding cloud of darkness and evil. Starting from the underworld mafia to terrorism, a wide range of criminal activities perpetuate, no matter what a social contract states. Every day, there are hundreds of crimes like murder, robbery, drug dealing, etc happening all over the world. The news broadcast is incomplete without such reported crimes, although a high proportion do get unnoticed and unreported to the law. It is observed that a crime less word is totally hypothetical. Within such a picture, an individual who has committed a crime has definitely broken the social contract. However, even though we consider the world to be a bad place, it is incorrect to refrain the person from his civil rights and benefits.

First of all, every activity is based on some reasoning. It is the duty of any social administration to dig deeper and find the roots behind a crime. If a rational person has knowingly committed a crime, it is conspicuous that there is a strong reason behind it. It is logical to analyse this reason and base the consequences upon them. What if the person was forced to do the crime due to unavoidable precarious circumstances? For instance, consider the case of a person X who is just a regular common man. One fine day, his family was taken hostage by a group of terrorists. Their plan was to use him as a scrape goat in order to bomb a building. He was blackmailed that if he didn't place the briefcase with the bomb in the building, his family would be killed. Hence, although X knew it is illicit, yet he did so, in order to save his family. Here, it is not apt to punish X with such harsh methods owing to the valid reason. He didn't purposefully commit a crime with evil mindedness. It was the situation that rendered him helpless and forced him to do so. So, look at the reason and decide the punishment.

Secondly, if a person has committed a crime due to self-defense, it should be taken into consideration before depriving him of his right. Let us illustrate this claim with the following case. John was mugged by a group of drug dealers when he was returning from his office, one late night, in the subway. There was no one around to help him. Although he handed over all this possessions to them, the muggers were totally ferocious and under the influence of their drug, beat him up and tried to shoot him. In order to escape from the ruffians and save himself, John took their gun and shot them and ran away. The crime was reported and John was caught for killing three gangsters. Here, it is unjust if John's intention of defending himself was not considered. It should be taken into account that he has actually fought for his life. Any social contract should definitely respect the rudimentary human right - the right to life.

Finally, it is unethical to take away the civil rights or the right to benefit from labor from a person who has knowingly committed a crime. Even if he had committed the crime for money or for any other reasons that the above mentioned valid ones, still he is a human being. There are several penal codes to punish a criminal, starting from capital punishment to bounded imprisonment. It is agreed that this punishment is mandatory. The social contract should not enforce the claim in discussion afterwards. It is a constitution's responsibility to provide fair chances and the right to equality to all its individuals. Say, Thomas robbed a bank back in the 90s. He was arrested and sentenced to a ten year imprisonment. After the ten years, he got released and started a farm in the country side. Now, is it right to deprive him of his civil rights? No. The criminal should be given a chance to live a normal life as a changed man.

Thus, we can conclude that it is not the fact that the person has knowingly committed a crime, but the reasoning and ethics that should be considered. There should be analysis of the reasons commensurate with the severity of a crime. Not all crimes are committed with destruction in mind. Rights exist for all civilians and it is fair only when they prevail to support a changed individual who wants to live a peaceful life. Deliberate, discuss, investigate and show clemency before punishing!