A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The argument that a criminal should not retain any civil rights is flawed. Such reasoning doesn't account the reasons due to which the person actually committed the crime in the first place. Also it doesn't consider any possibility of change in the persons behavior with time. Although, people should be punished for their crimes, they must not be deprived from the basic civil rights that are entitled to every human.

Consider the case of a woman who murdered her husband because he was a pedophile and he was trying to attack their own daughter. The woman even though knowingly committed the crime, she did it to protect her daughter. She must be sentenced to prison for taking the law for granted but retracting her civil rights for life would be outrageous. Such would be case of many people who are in the prison in the first place. Not everyone who commits a crime is a criminal. Some must have done under duress, some must have done it to protect their loved ones.

Even most notorious criminals change over time. They learn from their past. If a person is sentenced to life, he should at least given a chance for a plea at some point of time in the future. Based on subjective tests done by psychiatric experts, his/her conditions have to be assessed and only if the results are positive, he should be given the right to benefit from his or her own labor. This is a more humane way of dealing with the criminals. But their are exceptions. Some criminals may act their way through trickery and grab a jail-free card. They may go out and commit much more heinous crimes. Hence, the diagnosis must be done in multiple phases including proper assessment of the entire time the prisoner spent in the prison and the reason why he/she was in the prison for the first time.

There are some gangsters and mafia who engage in crimes their lifetime. Such people break the law again and again should not be given any chance as they broke the social contract a myriad times. In such cases retracting their civil rights seems correct. However, every case must be analyzed and only after proper evidence, such action should be taken.

People who commit crimes even knowingly may change over time. Hence depriving of them of minimum rights is not humane. They should be given a chance after some years of punishment. Only after all the options are exhausted, their benefits must be retracted.