A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The author maintains that any person who has committed a crime and did not committed the crime without any knowledge of the crime should be deprived of any civil rights and his labor should not near any benefit to him. To some point the author is absolutely right. Crime should never be tolerated and punishment should be exercised accordingly. But to make any judgement solely on the point that the offender knowingly committed the crime; is hard for me to completely agree with it.

To sentence someone for his or her crime is not an easy task to do. There should be issues facts, situations to be considered. The author suggests that anyone who deliberately commits a crime must be discarded of any civil rights. Let's take a scenario where a father assaults another man who was trying kidnap his baby girl. The father is an well educated man, he is a loyal citizen. He knew the consequences and effects of his crime. He still did it. He still assaulted the kidnapper. And he did it with full concscious. Will he also be discarded of his civil rights? Will he be discarded of a fair trial which is a civil right? Are we not going to atleast listen to the man who did everything in his power to save his daughter? He might have committed a crime, but it was the situation that forced him to do it. So, in my opinion before uttering any consequence we should explore the situation of the crime.

Take another scenario where one father punches his daughter's kidnapper and another father makes the kidnapper unconscious. Both have committed crimes under the same situation. But the magnitude of the crimes are different. If we charge both of them 6 months of prison then the first father might think that he should have rather beaten the kidnapper. What I am trying to say is that the magnitude of the crime should be considered. Was the crime really horrible enough to disdain him from any right he has?

Before taking away every right it should be made sure that whether the offender is regretting or not. If the offender regrets for his crime, and the crime is a minor one; but without giving him any right he is punished; this might even push him beyond the edge. With hatred and no belief toward the system, he might become more hostile.

The author also suggests that the offender should not benefit from his or her own labor. If that so, what do we expect next? This will make the offender less penitent in the future. How do we expect him to make an honest buck in the future?

While the author makes very firm points that any kind of offense should not be tolerated, it is hard for me to agree with him to go to the extreme. Before discarding the offender of his rights, his side of the story should be listened, at least. Then any fair judgement should be made accordingly.