The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people’s efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Technology has tremendously changed our lives in the past few years. From the moment we wake up everyday, we interact with objects inspired by technological advancements. Some people feel the primary goal of technological advancements is to improve people's efficiency so that everyone has more leisure time, others are of the opinion that technology serves a higher purpose other than this. I believe that technological advancements must be inspired by something more than increasing our leisure time.

One compelling reason for my standing is that major technological advancements made in past and present have worked towards making lives easier and better, not for the sake of improving our leisure time but to provide the momentum to tackle bigger issues. For example, invention of computer has substantively improved people's efficiency in variety of fields like business, science, healthcare etc. and this has motivated us to look ahead to solve more daunting problems like origin of Universe or Artificial Intelligence. Even though, computers have helped in increasing our leisure time, this was not the primary goal behind its invention. Thus, technological advancements improving people's efficiency which in turn leads to increased people's leisure time can not be the primary goal behind it.

Another reason for my standing is that technological advancements are a precursor to what kind of future we will be creating for our future generations. Self-indulgent motives like improving our leisure time might be sound in short term but on a long term might be precarious. For instance, an imminent issue faced by humans is global warming. One of the major contributors to this phenomenon is internal combustion engine. This advancement has improved our efficiency and leisure time by cutting down on our travel time. Future advancements can be directed in two directions- improving it further or replacing it entirely. So, in any case the primary goal for advancement can never be merely improving our leisure time.

However, increasing our leisure time can help us lead better lives. More leisure time means people can spend more time with family and friends or indulge in pleasurable activities, thus improving their overall emotional and physical health. But, this can serve as a secondary goal and not a primary goal behind technological advancements as the author states.

In sum, technological advancements are crucial to the future of human race. Thus, our goals and expectations from them have to be clearly defined without any bias towards humans and keeping in mind other flora and fauna which shares this planet with us.