Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily obsolete ways of thinking and acting because of both a high comfort level and a fear of the unknown.

A society whose people embrace positive changes will be making a good progress towards a promising future. I believe, overcoming our fears and abandoning the obsolete ways of thinking can unlock unforeseen potentials in our society.

Starting a shoe making business especially with little or no experience may first seem a daunting task. Many would prefer continue selling the kind of shoes already in the market. An entrepreneur will have to take a higher risk to invest his money and time to come up with new shoes designs, but once his designs catch the market his profit will go high because the designs will be unique – and who doesn’t want to look uniquely fashionable – the shoes will become a new trend in the market. In order to become successful, individuals in the society should be ready to take risks and overcome their fear.

The world is changing and therefore every individual should make some progress towards that change. Globalization and use of internet has integrated different parts of the world to become like one village; while countries vary in the use of technology, each country is aware of what the current technology offers. Statistical data shows that ICT has been a catalyst for development of developed countries, whereby third world countries are reluctant towards the adaption of ICT. Therefore, developing countries should abandon their fear in order to reduce the existing economic gap.

Some may argue that, old ways of doing things are better. Proponents of the idea focus on the chances of failure upon taking a new direction such as starting a new business. They consider that taking risks does not always yield positive results. However, failure is part of growing, we sometimes have to learn from our mistakes and do something better afterwards. On the other hand, one is more likely to lose more opportunities if doesn’t want try anything.

To sum up, in this ever changing world making progress is necessary and everyone should strive to make at least one step at a time to make our life better.