The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

At first it seems logical that musician's popularity interfere with the correct assessment of his/her talent.But after giving it some thought it can be said that popularity is one of the factors in determining the talent of the musician.Popularity of musician increases when he/she is producing great music and people are liking it.

Saying that people get influenced by the popularity is not totally true.

while some people may get influenced by this factor but there are always people who know music. They know how good the musician is.

People may get influenced by the popularity and listen to some music and some times enjoy it because of the popularity that but if musician is not good then people will get fed up. They will stop listening. And obviously popularity will drop.

When a particular musician is popular because of reasons other than music then it is quite possible that some time people get influenced by his/her popularity and think that that musician is good but until they listen to him. After listening it depends to the quality of music if people like it or not.

We can not say they that musician cannot be judged before he is long dead.It is possible to assess the talent of a musician even when he is alive. May be not when he is on his peak.Then it is quite possible that people are just following the trend and liking it. But when the musician remains in business for a prolonged time, judging the talent become easier.