"Regulators and policymakers should respond to potential environmental threats even before the information is fully known or concrete."How would you rate the accuracy of the above statement? Support your position with reasons and examples.

The statement with regards to regulators and policymakers responding to potential environmental threats even before conclusion information is full known is a compelling one. It is a statement that I can agree with, although not without reservations because not all potential environmental threats can be treated the equally.

Precautionary actions should be taken to protect against environmental threats when human lives are at stake. For example, although no geologists can accurately and conclusively determine when the next earthquake or tsunami will occur, policymakers in countries like Japan and America are take the necessary steps to safeguard the lives of their citizens. Houses are built to be earthquake-proof in accordance to stringent construction rules and sea barriers are constructed along the coastlines of Japan. If no preventive measures were taken, a repeat of the Fukushima nuclear disaster caused by earthquake and tsunami could be in the making.

Furthermore, responding to potential environmental threats could also help ensure that the quality of living for everyone on Earth. Policy makers back in the 2000s banned the industrial usage of CFCs because preliminary studies at that time showed that CFC has the potential to destroy the ozone layer. In fact, in a smack to the face to companies worldwide, it was proven later that there was in fact a 'hole' in the ozone layer up in the North Pole due to CFC. The effects were reversible and many props to environmental regulators for having the foresight to prevent an environmental catastrophe from happening. Otherwise, living beings on Earth would suffer greatly from the excessive UV radiations reaching the surface of the Earth.

However, not all potential environmental threats should be given the same weightage and treated in same light as others. It is not always as clear cut as to what potential environmental issues should policy makers respond to. For example, in Indonesia the surrounding mountainous lands near volcanos are very fertile and suitable for farming. If the government imposed laws that forbid anyone to live close to the volcano because of potential danger posed by a volcano eruption, it could lead to lost farming opportunities and severely impact the local economy of the region. Instead, a wiser alternative would be to study the impact of such laws if enacted and regulators should weigh between the pros and cons of such option. Solid data and conclusive evidences would be needed to make an informed choice.

In conclusion, we can see that in most cases, regulators and policymakers having the prescience to take precautionary action against potential environmental threats could serve humans well. However said, some times things are not a straightforward as it seem and it would be wiser for information to be fully gathered and known before making a decision. Therefore, the accuracy and validity of the statement is limited.