Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

University students are young talented people who dream of contributing in revolutionizing the world through their talents. College students therefore, dedicated much of their time in studying the fields of their interest rather than acquainting themselves with knowledge from every field. Considering the requirement of truly educating college students one can ask what is a 'truly educated' person? A clear fundamental definition of true education means that one shall be able to dexterously approach day to day problems. For such trite necessities, we cannot bound these kindled minds to commit themselves in rounding up for several subjects. There are several repercussions of mandating such curriculumn.

To begin with, diverging the determination of these students might lead them into confusing state, where they battle with themselves to take out time to study other variety courses. Such conditions not only deteriorate the students' skills but also present the deleterious situation of dilemma frequently. As a result, they might end up performing bad in their major subjects and additional subjects as well.

Furthermore, nobody wants to judge a fish by its abilities to climb a tree, therefore, letting students choose fields of their own interest and delicately study the related subjects help them hone the skills they have. For an instance, a student determined to become a medical practitioner can have no use of studying the nuances of art. But, if he is required to do so, he might not cope up with the enormous burdens of pages he have to read to become a doctor.

Conversely, education is about liberty, the liberty to study whatever they want, and for the sake of that liberty no student shall be denied from pursuing programs that interest them. Several universities like Carnegie Mellon, Yale etc offer programs that let student choose subjects from fields outside their major's fields. If any student is willingly showing interest in such programs, than the dilemma of not being able to give time in commensurate manner ceases to exist.

However, students shall be thoroughly counselled by educational counselors before making any such decisions. It is important that they are well informed about the course content and the research they will need in order to get their degree.

Conclusively, it should be a students will to choose fields which they want to study in college. Universities and Colleges already have vast curriculum's and imposing few more books to read will only deteriorate the passion of students have towards their field of interest.