Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The above statement claims that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on the problems no speaker or reform could. It is human tendency to find negative aspects more fascinating than positive ones and scandals are no different in this case. They do attract attention of a wide range of population and more effectively disclose the obscured facts.

When a scandal is reported, it becomes known to a huge amount of population. The case is studied punctiliously and many aspects, which were not known previously, are revealed. For example, in India, a few years back the Commonwealth Games scandal took place in which various ministers including the then chief minister of the state. It was found that only half of the money sanctioned was used for the sports-persons. The scandal was huge and thousands of millions rupees were in question. It also unearthed the corruption in various departments and activities related to the Commonwealth Game, which eventually cumulated to the main scandal. All of that would have remained hidden if the scandal was never reported. Media played a vital role here in reporting even the minute details of the event making public aware and agitated and as a result all those ministers were duly punished and they also lost their seats in the next elections. A scandal has the potential to present the veracity of the people involved and can publicize the actual untempered version of the story. The oblivious public get to know what the actual situation of the society is and hence become more aware.

However, sometimes scandals prove to be distracting from more pressing problems which have a larger impact on the community and society. For example, a few years back, an IAS officer of Madhya Pradesh (a state of Central India) was tried and punished in the case of bribery. The scandal enjoyed great media coverage; every new development was front page news. But it did not disclose the corruption in the system itself. It became merely a case of a man’s greed. There could have been a greater outcome, if the approach of the revelation of the scandal had been different.

In conclusion, it could only be said that a scandal can become a powerful device to address and appeal a large share of population. It can be an important factor in the socio-economic of a society. However, whether it’s a boon or a bane should be decided for each individual case.