Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim that scandals are useful in drawing attention or focus on problems that speaker or reformers otherwise may not be able to, seems cogent. Reformers or speakers may be well in addressing the crowds and enunciating the problems pertaining to current situation but only if people see someone actually complicity in some scandal then he get a more pellucid view of why that problem needs attention and can encourage them to take some steps to ameliorate the situation

To begin with, consider, a venal politician of a country who is found guilty in giving land meant for building schools and parks for children to some builders for real estate for money. In such case, childrens are deprived of their basic right and also politician is using his power for wrong means. If this scandal is not divulged to people then this vile act won't be stopped and politician will continue to do it. Even if some reformer or spokesperson address this issue in his speech, in what way it will stop the corrupt politician to stop ? The only viable option is to expose this scandal to people. This not only makes politician guilty in front of everyone but preclude the possibility to some extent that he will do the same thing again.

Also, scandals not only expose the people but once the situation is opened up in front of everyone, the chances of punishment of those found guilty increases. People become more aware of how catastrophic consequences can be, if, such thing occurs because they have an example. It makes them more conscious about the current shaky state of the society and thus prompt them to report such issues, if they encounter any.

Furthermore, the act of exposing someone through scandal is usually followed by a wave of awareness among people. This has indirect implications on the miscreants who break laws for their own interest. To illustrate, say, if someone is held guilty in a scandal of selling expired medicines to people by simply removing the manufacturing and expiry dates from the product, then, if this scandal is exposed once, people will be more diligent in their act of buying and using products because they now have an example of the deleterious effects of using expired products. So, they will be more weary in their act of purchasing these things and this makes the sellers also more cautious and will make them to think a lot before indulging in selling the bad quality expired products.

To sum up, scandals reveals lawbreakers, people engaged in corrupt act and thus make draws people's attention to the issue. It not only prevents the law breakers from repeating their actions again but also makes people more educated about the issue as it spreads like a raging conflagration across the globe which is not possible in case of reformer's speech as it remains confined in a limited area.