Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim asserts that scandals can in a way be useful for the society, as they may allow people to have a better look at the problems, which many of the reformers and thinkers might not able to do. Though the claim may seem to be inappropriate, but it is actually very true. Scandals easily catch the attention of people, thereby bringing to focus the various problems of the society.

Firstly scandals are actually real life incidents, they are not hypothetical events. They occur in our society, so it is easier for the common public to relate to them, understand them and in doing that the problems concerned are also brought to light. For example, I can consider the CWG scam in my country INDIA, where the problem of corruption has long been a major source of evil for the society. As the rampant corruption that was prevalent during the build up to games, was exposed it opened the eyes of the masses. All those involved in this vicious cycle of corruption were exposed. The problems of funds meant for development being mismanaged for personal gains, and the pathetic, poorly managed sporting bodies all came to light.

Secondly, it is human tendency that it gets easily attracted to bad things, like in comedy the more vulgar the jokes are, the louder is one going to laugh. Similarly scandals are also outcome of the wrong acts. They easily attract the attention of the people. Scandals provide a source of fuel to the hot debates in media. These media houses while trying to publicize the issues for their own personal benefits, ultimately highlight a lot of the key problems, which otherwise may not get any due public attention. Consider the recent events of shooting of black people in USA by the Police Officers. The recent events hotly debated in news shows have once again opened questions regarding the racial discrimination against blacks.

Moreover it is not necessary that scandals can only focus the attention on problems in society always. Scandals covering aspects varying from sex life of celebrities to celebrity gossip to some other trivial matter, are in no way of any relevant worth for the society.

In conclusion though scandals are a product of the diabolical things prevalent in the society, they actually do make it easier for general masses to perceive problems in a better and effective manner than a speaker or a reformer.