Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In todays’s world of contemporary media,everyone is aware of what is happening on a real time basis due to the advent of social media.For instance,an event which is happening live could be watched by people not only attending that event but throughout the world because of Facebook.In such an atmosphere,Scandals are really crucial as they bring out the real truth in a way that a speaker couldn’t due to a lot of factors ranging from the reach that the particular speaker might be having or his/her following,etc.Therefore,i agree that it is really necessary to bring the scandals out in the open through various sources such as a news channel,an application in a smart phone or Facebook.

First and foremost,in a corrupt country like india there a lot of scandals happening day in and day out regarding a lot of issues such as political,sexual,moral,literary and even artistic.For these scandals to be out in open,there should be an efficient machinery such a print media or news channels whose authenticity cannot be questioned or argued about.It is essential for the public to know how the powerful people in the society are manipulating laws and deceiving them for their personal gains.Scandals are an important part of the society as they bring out the truth in the open without an array of doubts that people have in their minds through rumours and word of mouth.The revelations not only target the particular individual of their misdeeds but it affects the whole society as the perpetrators are not brought to justice until the scandals are actually out.

Secondly,the rich and powerful people of the society think that they can get away with whatever they do with materialistic bribe given to the officials concerned which does work in a developing country like India.Such acts should be curbed and brought to an end about as soon as possible as it robs the general people of their fundamental rights which states that everyone is equal.Scandals play a big role here as speakers and reformers could target a few people or everyone wouldn’t be truly convinced by the particular speaker.Thus,scandals make sure that the government or the concerned machinery actually acknowledges the scam and work for the betterment rather than only highlighting it with no results.

In addition,there a lot of reforms that a particular society needs as there are a lot of evils such as rape,female foeticide,child marriage and so on which needs to be given their due diligence and act upon it for the betterment of the humanity as a whole.These horrific acts need to be dealt with in the most proactive manner and scandals one of the most effective ways that it could be brought about.Usually,the source of the scandals are not meeting the legal requirements or abuse of power or maybe a factor of lust and the list goes on.For ex,the 2g scam in india which was covered by the channel times now had the most influential and political people involved and it wouldn’t have been out in the open and the accused people wouldn’t have been brought to justice had it not been for media.As a matter of fact,it was the only way they could have been bought to justice as there was an uproar and angst among the public which caused the implementations which no speaker could have ever pulled of.

Finally,as there are a whole lot of benefits in exposing the misdeeds of the people whose wrongdoings affect the society,there are also a few downsides to it.For instance,the base of the scandals could be a rumour which could create a whole lot of confusion amongst the society through the same sources which intend to bring out the truth.This would make the consumer doubt every source of information reaching to him/her and that wouldn’t be ideal.Another flip side to it is that irrelevant issues could deviate the people’s attention from relevant topics which would again hamper the quality of information being provided to the general public.there is another problem nowadays which is affecting the genuineness of the scandals that some media houses are paid for by the corporate giants and politicians who manipulate the news being brought out to the world.

In conclusion,I would say that scandals are like a double edged sword which can have miraculous consequences or disastrous depending upon the intent of the individual bringing out the scandal and the information itself which could have a baseless root to begin with and could spiral into something which is not desirable at all.