Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Thanks to the spread of modern technology, various kinds of things, either big or small, are diffused on the different medias at tremendous speed. Amongst these, scandals are particularly outstanding, for these attract much more audiences than other things, even excel in the ways that speakers or reformers do.

Scandals, in general, are made by someone whose behaviors are illegal or immoral so that he or she will suffer from punishment more or less. People seem more inclined to know the bad news that happened to others and see the man concerned to collapse than the bombast of speakers or reformers. At the same time, scandals often give people deeper impression than the political events——the effect just as a great number of novels bring their readers the sensation with a tragic ending. For this reason, a piece of scandal often attracts far more public attention than political events. On the other hand, scandals have the characteristic of entertainment, which people read in more relaxing way, compared to the seriousness of the news reported on speakers or reformers.

To some extent, scandals, have some economic value owing to the large-scale report by all kinds of medias. Today, modern technology, like network media, largely contribute to the improvement of news diffusion. When a celebrity makes mistake in his life, the news about him will be reported on network, newspapers, TV, or radio, fast known by people, old and young and always told by them in leisure time. Network plays the major role, for it has high popular with universal use and has become the predominant method for the public to obtain information. Moreover, the medias generally publish the scandals to attract audiences’ eyes with a striking caption by a significant portion of page. In this way, the click rate of the network page will increase, or the circulation of newspapers will grow up; the earnings of the media will rise correspondingly.

However, some people who disagree this statement may be afraid of the negative influence of scandals——which may distract people from the rational judgment, or make people deviate from the real problems, in contrast, speakers or reformers have more fascination on reflecting the essence of the problems. In fact, people also analyze the negative effects and gain some inspirations from these scandals; and when the medias distribute the scandals, they also give some remarks about these reports.

So, in view of the widespread scope of scandals, I agree this statement that scandals have more attraction on problems in ways that the speakers or reformers.