School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

People with excellent knowledge and academic skills have reached greater heights and so do people with relatively lesser knowledge. People with knowledge have reached perfection and so do people without knowledge. So clearly it does not matter what is the qualification to acquire greatness but it is the non-academic aspects or the virtues, that the person is carrying with him, makes the difference. Therefore, I believe that the non-academic aspects of adulthood should be taught at schools as these are important quality that holds the power to make a person rise or fall.

The virtues or ethics has been always considered the most important aspect that a person should possess to achieve greatness. That is the reason why in south Asian region during the start of civilisation there were gurus or teachers or masters who taught their disciples, mostly ethics along with the skill that the teacher has mastered at. Geat personalities who have done wonders by strictly following the non-academic ways of adulthood include Mother Teresa, Mahatma Gandhi, Nelson Mandela, etc.

Apart from that schools are highly equipped in teaching the nonacademic aspects of life as they already have professional academicians. Some may also argue that parents know best what to teach and what not to but all parents are not free enough to be with their siblings all the time and in addition, no one can confidently declare that all parents are eligible to teach ethics.

Every job demand a minimum requirement, why? Because they require the employee to have the minimum technical know how to to do the assigned jobs and along with that they require good general as well as professional ethics. So that the person works with alacrity and also help in maintaining the decorum office.

In as much as to make a difference or to reach greatness, in reality, academic skills play a very minimal role, it is the virtues or the non-academic skills that ultimately push the person out of the crowd. Therefore, I believe along with the academic skills, the schools should include non-academic skill as well in their syllabus, to help their students conquer the goal they really dream of.