Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

There are many questions and problems which science and technology have been able to address. Sometimes, the solution is very eloquent, such as how to stay warm in the winter. To address this problem, technology has resulted in central heating and warm clothing. However, not all problems and solutions are this simple. When considering the more complex problems of society, it seems unlikely that science and technology will ever be at the point of being able to solve all of society's problems.

To begin, it is important to recognize that technology and science have provided us with solutions to many of the problems faced by a society; however, not all of a society's problems will be able to be solved by machinery and scientific answers. There are many problems within a society that have long been debated by humans since the dawn of human existence. For example, questions of morality have been debated by thousands of philosophers. Questions about right versus wrong, and what makes a 'good' life, or what is happiness. These are complex questions which have often resulted in problems for a society, and the solutions to these problems are unlikely to be found in science and technology. To illustrate this, take the example of whether stealing is wrong, and deciding what to do in any particular case, may create problems within a society. One could argue that stealing is allowable in certain cases, perhaps if one is stealing from a more affluent and avarice group to help an impecunious population. This issue creates a large amount of gray area and ambiguity, which often results in contentious issues within any given society or between societies with varying views. It is unlikely that science and technology will ever be able to answer these broader questions and it is important to bear in mind that if technology were at a point of providing answers to these types of questions, it is because a human (or a group of humans) created this technology with their view at its core. Rather than reflecting the 'truth' which humans strive to find, it would likely only reflect the belief system of the creator or author of this technology or scientific advancement.

Furthermore, science and technology, while solving many problems, often creates new ones, sometimes as a direct consequently, other times via more indirect routes. For example, by solving the problem of needing to travel the world through faster and safer means, science and technology has risen to this challenge by creating planes. However, in creating planes, there has also been an increase in the dependence of fossil fuels, resulting in another problem: climate change. One solution has created a new problem. This game of 'catching-up' will likely forever be a factor within any given society. As another example, science and technology has solved many of the problems of infertility and health with stem-cell research. Yet this solution has resulted in various other issues within society, such as protests and divides between those who are against stem-cell research versus those who approve its development. There will always be new problems for science and technology to solve, which may result as a consequence of another problem's solution.

Finally, it is worth noting that this issue is not without its complexities. It is difficult to predict where technological advances will take humanity in the upcoming generations. There are many problems that societies may not have realized needed solutions, and there are many solutions that one is perhaps unable to imagine, even in their wildest dreams. It is unpredictable where technology and science will take societies and the human race as a whole. Asking someone this exact question about the possibilities of science and technology three-hundred years ago would have yielded a very different answer than asking someone today. There are likely scientific and technological advancements that we are incapable of imagining or creating in our minds, and as such, it is extremely difficult to determine definitively where science and technology will take the human race in solving society's problems.

In conclusion, it is very unlikely that science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society's problems. The inherent complexities of societies are not one that lends itself to being solved by one field or another. There will always be problems within societies, even if only those which result from human nature itself.