Society must instill competition and not cooperation in order to prepare their young people for leadership roles in industry, government and other fields

The best way a society can prepare its young people for their future leadership roles in various fields like government, industry and any other is by imbibing in them a sense of winning which comes from healthy competition. Cooperation may to some extent promote relationships and bring about a certain peace element while working in groups or teams but it is the feeling of competition that challenges a man or a women to realise their full potential. It is the ability of a leader to see the situation in all its objectivity and not accept that he is presented with.

Competition leads to never die attitude and a sense of fighting the odds to achieve the desried goals. Take for example the case of most honoured George Washington. He was being chased away by the british army to a point where the British Army thought the American general and his cause was over and gave up chanse pon them, it was the winning attitude of the General that didnt let his quit his cause. Despite heavy losses and a much smaller army he attacked them and kept the small sqirmishes alive until the much needed foreign help came and help the country achieve freedom. I somehow do not see cooperation making him go on in the said situation.

One may argue in the support of the claim, citing examples that i'ts cooperation that makes teams work in harmony and not competition. which is agreeable to an extent however in absence of competition, cooperation will only lead to yes-sir individuals, none of whom will be able to stand upto authority or status-quo, this will lead to stagnation and develpment will be impossible. Let me elaborate upon this by an example of a marketing department of a company where a brainstorming session is in action to design an advertising campaing for a product X. If in the session one member suggests an idea and others agree to it without any hesitaion as a sign of their cooperation. Imagine this situation vis-a-vis another situation where the same group is given the responsibility along with a prize of $25000 if the ad campaign is successful. Undoubtedly the second sitaution has chances of producing better campaign than the first one.

I would like to draw another example from the field of sports, where competition is at its highest form. Are the players not challeneged to achieve their best form and consequnetly a win if they are competing instead of just cooperating in the game. Is life not very similar to the sports arena and its amny dynamics. If the children are not taught to keep score of their goals from childhoood to instill a sense of competition, would it be possible for them to turn out to be a fine sportsman when they grow up. It is the competition that helps them to keep score of their wins and not cooperation. Having said that in no way I am saying that cooperation is not important on the field of sports.

To recapitulate, I would reiterate that to produce examplary leaders in variuos fields society must prepare its young people to compete fairly. Having said that when it comes to wokring in groups or leading a group leaders will also need to [ractice cooperation in multiple circumstances. Therefore, he/she must learn the importance of cooperation along with competition and fair play in their dealings.