Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Although it is undeniable that as human overpopulated this earth and depleted natural resources, a mass extinction is taking place. As heartbreaking as this inconvenient truth is, the concerted effort from the society to save endangered species should not be based on an emotional decision or a guilt-trip. Whether the species’ peril is the result of human activities should not be the primary indicator of whether we should save it.

Unfortunately, the process of extinction is irreversible for a species, hence the decision of whether to save a species needs extremely careful deliberation. With our often limited ability to manipulate the ecological system, the exact consequences involved in a species’ extinction are beyond control of human. In the most extreme case, the disappearance of a keystone species in an ecosystem can result in the collapse of the entire equilibrium, and threatens the livelihood of many other species, and even human, if a dangerous pest is no longer kept in check. Whether the extinction is caused by human activities is rather peripheral in this case, and the role of the species in the ecosystem becomes the key consideration. Unreserved efforts to stop extinction are required for all species playing important roles in the ecosystem, no matter the reason of their peril.

Not only has the biodiversity kept the environment function properly, they also inspired brilliance in the field of literature, art and technology. Millions of novels, with the most famous being The old man and the sea, explore the beautiful relation between man and nature. There is also an entire genre of painting dedicated to the immense and imposing beauty of nature. Technology benefitted incredibly from our observation of how animals and plants thrive, and so did medicine. Multiple efficient drugs against parasites such as malaria are distilled from plants.

It is also worth noting the intricacy of the ecosystem. Just as manipulating factors in the ecosystem is difficult, unravelling the role of human activity in the ecosystem is also near impossible. There is no controlled experiment that can be undertaken to test plausible theories, at least not under ethical approvals. Therefore, the decision of whether a species’ potential extinction is a result of human activity is often naive and prone to error.

As a result, it is important to try to save all endangered species, with special priorities being placed on species that plays a key role in the ecosystem, and not the ones that we feel the guiltiest towards.