Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

The nature has numerous animals, birds and plants which are on the verge of extinction. Some because of the faults of human beings and others because of their own mistakes or due to other environmental conditions. But, is it our responsibility to look after each and every such species and save them from their fate? We should put our efforts to save the species that are getting extinct due to human mistakes and then think of helping others.

Human beings don’t have the right to cause the extinction for any living species. But it is not our sole responsibility to secure and nurture all living beings on earth which are getting vanished. To put it in another way, there might be wild animals which are endangered due to large number of furious predators. But it is not possible for us to save each and every such living creature. Such attempt will not only be void but will also lead to huge loss of human resources. Of course it is not feasible for human being to take control of the food chain in an uninhabited wild jungle or in deep under seas. Again interfering in natural food chain may also cause harm to other species which were living in harmony. Ultimately, we will be disturbing the balance of food chain and indirectly harming or rather endangering the existence of some other animals.

Furthermore, although being the most superior species, we don’t have the right to interfere with the nature’s wish. Some species might be endangered by their own natural and environmental surrounding. In such case, it’s the natures wish to end up the species there to secure some other resources. As an illustration, the extinction of dinosaurs was by the wish of Mother Nature. If any other species had interfered in that phenomenon, many other species including ours would not have come to existence. Hence, it is sometimes a part of nature’s curriculum to extinct a species to give space for new ones and we should never interrupt any such process.

On the contrary, being gifted by so much control over the nature, we too have a responsibility to take care of the helpless flora and fauna. There might be creatures which are getting extinct due to severe natural calamities. If we have the power to help such species to move to a place where the can grow in number without effecting the natures balance, we should always do so. Many species might indirectly be effected by the industrialization and other hazards caused by human beings without our knowledge. Hence turning a deaf ear to their call will never be a wise decision.

As has been noted above, some living creatures are getting effected by our misdeeds beyond our knowledge. But it does not necessarily mean that we should be helping each and every disappearing species and thereby go against the nature’s wish to bring a change. To sum up, we can conclude that rescuing and helping all species which are about to extinct will not be a wise or economically feasible idea.