some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue that has been proposed here is the problem of choosing a field of study and measures which must be considered at the time of making a choice. There are different opinions regarding this issue. Some people may hold the view that students must consider their talents and interests. On the other hand, some may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that students must make a choice based on availability of jobs in each fields. In the following paragraphs, the main reasons posited by both groups are first discussed and then my own position would be delineated.

As we said before, some people believe that at the time of choosing a field of study, students must think about their interests and capabilities and consider those as primary factors influencing their decision making processes. These people think that choosing a field of study is benchmark in life of every person. Hence, if students choose a discipline which is not consistent with their abilities and interests; then, this choice will destroy their educational motivations. Moreover, because that in most cases the perspective jobs of each and every student is aligned with the discipline that they have studied, choosing a field which has no common factor with the interests of student can lead to depression and dissatisfaction towards the job.

But then, there are some people who think students should make their decisions regarding educational discipline based on the jobs which will be available for each field. They argue that if a student make a choice according to his or her interests; then, it is possible that aforementioned student after graduation and entering the job market, realize that he or she cannot find a suitable employment, one which fits with his or her education and expertise. It is likely that this person will be forced to work in a position which has no relevance with his or her study, and this is equal with wasting considerable time and money and other resources on something useless.

Although the latter ones are not completely wrong, personally I am more in agreement with the former ones. Elimination of incentives due to lack of consistency between job and interests, or depression and dissatisfaction with jobs in the absence of common factors between job and interests can be a major problem for everyone. Moreover, a person who choose a certain field of education based on his or her interests and talents, and continues to study in this discipline, when is faced with lack of employment in a possible future, will not remain with no available solution. He or she can make use of his or her resources, i.e. skills, interests, talents, motivations, capabilities, expertise and likewise, and as an entrepreneur make an innovative job for him or herself.