Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.Writ

The writer of the issue states that some people contend that students should just rely on their eagerness and aptitudes in a field of study which they are going to continue in a college; however some others are supporter of the idea that students should choose their field of study on basis of job availability for that area of specialization. In what follows the main reasons postulated by both groups are first discussed and then my own position will be expressed.

Those people who believe that students should use their potentials for selecting the apropos major highly rely on self-satisfactory decisions. As they believe people should love their field of study and beside that love, they should show the tendency needed for appropriately doing a task. On the other hand, they think having talents and interests in a field will increase the output of that work. For example, if a student fathoms mathematical issues inherently, he will continue knowing more about that field which is nearly in accordance with his own capacity. So, why he should be forced to select a major in which he doesn’t show any inclination?! Moreover, in this way his talent has been getting in used in such a positive and effective way.

As it was mentioned in the statement, there are some others who paradoxically do not believe in interest as a factor in choosing a field of study. Instead, they believe that college students should choose more cautiously and give more weight to job availability issue in such a way that they should anticipate existence of vacancies for their future job. To strengthen their position, they think that people should be aware of their society needs and plan to cover them to be more successful. What if someone continue his studies to an advanced level but he could not find a suitable job related to his field of expertise?! In fact, in this way he will get depressed as all his efforts through studying that major was fruitless.

As far as I am concerned, I should say that I lodge my opinion somewhere between the two positions. In fact, in order to have a beneficent and practical system of education, we should heed to both sides which is stated above. It means that having talent and tendency is half of the criteria needed for effectively choosing a field of study and the other half is society needs and job availability because we, as humans all love to earn money by ourselves having kind of independency financially to cover our desires and continue our life with the hope of being a successful and efficient member in society.