Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There's a saying that goes "do what you love and you will never work a day in your life." Many students are entering college as undeclared, exploring what they love and which field might make them the happiest. Universities acknowledge this phenomenal and offer many electives. In fact, many schools within the university,such as the arts and sciences/humanities, will require that you obtain a certain amount of credits in free electives unrelated to your major. From the beginning, going back as far as elementary school, students are encouraged to choose a field of study based on their talents and interests. It may be argued that if you choose what you love, you cannot go wrong and will never doubt it.

However, this view fails to take into account one very important factor: the economy. Recent studies have shown that 40% of recent college graduates in the United States are unemployed. What might explain this occurrence? Well, many students, driven by pure passion and sanguinity, go into fields without looking at how the status of the economy affects the job market within their particular field. Millennials face the dismal situation of being stuck in an economic crisis. There are more students competing for the same job than ever before and the job market is having a hard time keeping up with the pace. It could take several weeks to months for a college graduate to finally land a career in their desired field. Others who also have a hard time finding a career in their field, but who refuse to be unemployed after college, often settle for mediocre jobs. They resort to bartending or waitressing, rather than becoming a performer in their dream play or journalist for a top newspaper.

Now, someone might argue that you should always pursue your passion and "where there is a will, there is a way," so to speak. Those who believe you should pursue your talents and interests over the availability of jobs in the field are living in a fairytale. I say this because one might have to wait years to find the perfect career of their dream. And in years, the state of our economy could get worse. Things are not as black and white as they seem, and many factors go into what affects the future of the economy. In keeping in mind the availability of jobs, one ensures that they will graduate and make a good living for themselves, putting their foot in the door and starting a great life.