Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

Competitions were conducted from the early ages with an intention of promoting athletes and to drive them to excel further. The speaker points out that while some people believe competitions to be an encouragement, it also acts a source of discouragement to the less talented sportsmen. I stand by the policy that competitiveness of these athletes are the drives them to achieve their best.

Every competition has one or the other athlete breaking records. Such a feat is impossible if they do not put in their best. Moreover, these athletes have a goal. They set their aim as higher than the standing record. This nature of athletes to best the past is born out of their competitive nature.

Competitions can also be the place where each athlete realizes one's talent and limits. An athlete who wins the state level competition is motivated to climb higher and compete in the national levels. This requires them to practice harder and push themselves to their best. Similarly, an athlete who fails to perform well in a competition, though dejected, will be able to analyze his setbacks. He is forced to evaluate himself, compare himself with the others, identify his areas of weakness and setup measures to eradicate them. His fail in a competition can be a motivation to perform better in the next competition.

However, excess competitiveness of these athletes can also be harmful. Adoption of malpractices in the field of sports is not uncommon. Match fixations and corruptions involved in sports arise from the competitiveness to excel. Additionally, athletes might even turn to the use of drugs to enhance their performance. This was recently discovered in Russian athletes during the evaluation for the Olympics 2016. Excess pressure from coaches can also hinder the athletes from performing their best.

To sum it all, competitions encourage each athlete to try and keep trying to achieve the best. The fame, glory and appreciation they get from each competition helps them to aim for better in the next competition. However, excess competitive nature can also push them into pits and hinder them from giving their best.