Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within law, is to make as much money as possible.

Corporations, fundamentally exist so as to bring in profits. I agree, money matters. But it is equally important that corporations take responsibility for the well-being of societies and the environments they operate in. Some corporations do take this responsibility seriously,while others are lacking in this area.

Profits brought in by the corporations contribute vastly to the country's economy and helps it to push forward to development. Corporations provide much more employment opportunities, places products in the global market, increases trade and taxation, thereby improving the economy of the country. Hence the first and major responsibility of corporations will be to seek out as large a profit as possible while operating within the law.

Additionally, corporations should also take responsibility for the well being of societies. Profits climb higher only when the consumers are satisfied. Recently, packaged noddles Maggie was put out of business when reports claimed it contained harmful ingredients. Sales could be resumed only after the company proved that their product was safe. The trust with the people serves as a factor for the survival of corporations.

Corporations also have a responsibility towards the environment. Corporate fails have lead to disasters like Bhopal gas tragedy in the past. Even the recent oil spills in Mexican Gulf is the result of lack of care on the part of corporations. These are incidents that affect marine and human lives and puts the reputation and stocks of these corporations in jeopardy.

To conclude, corporations should put in efforts to upgrade the welfare of the society and also consider the safety of the environment we live in, even while maximizing profits. The aspiration to attain high profits should not put the well-being of the society at risk.