"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make a

While it is true that the primary concern of corporations should be making as much profits as possilbe, I believe it should not be the only responsibility of corporations. A company that should not focus solely on profits and they have a responsibility to promote and ensure the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Corporations that focuses solely on profits will not be as sustainable. They might see a short term increase in profits but it might hurt their bottomline in the long run. For example, General Motors decision to relocate their company from the Midwest to South America was drivenly chiefly by the desire to cut down on labour cost. This resulted in a huge void in labour market of the Midwest, causing unemployment rate to soar and crime rates to increase. In turn, GM sales saw a hit due to the general resentment of the people towards the company.

Large companies that are involved in Corporate Social Responsibility initiatives help ensure that employees are satisfied with the companies role in helping the community. This can help attract like minded future employees to the company and help maintaining their best talents. Corporations will be able to serve their clients with better services which in turn will result increased profits for the company.

A company that promotes the wellbeing of the environment in which they operate will ensure their long term profit and substainability of their business. They will prevent many deleterous outcome that might befall them if their only concern is making profit, even within the limits of law. For example, an oil and gas company might choose to economize on worker safety training and equipments if they are no legal requirements on the matter. However, in an event of human error leading to enviromental catrastrophe similar to the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, the company will be slapped with hefty fines, expensive lawsuits and restrive sanctions. All these combined will be costly of the the company in the long run and they would not have been worst off had they chosen to not focus sole on profits.

It can be argued that what is good for the company is also good for the people, hence why a corporation should focus only on making money. The company will be able to pay employees better wages and the quality of living will surely increase. However, this is a one-sided view on what constitutes quality of life. Society will be better off not only with higher GDP per capita, but also from various measurements such as better social cohesion and lower crime rates.

In conclusion, the primary purpose of corporations should be making profits in addition to championing the well-being of societies and environments. Focusing solely on profits might reap short term benefits but it is not suistanable, and corporations are better off balancing between making profits and ensuring the well-being of societies and environments.