Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

As industrialization and globalization of economy are happening at a rapid pace, the responsibilities of corporations towards the societies and environment are also becoming a significant factor. As some may believe that making as much profit as possible should be the only agenda for the corporations, however, may not work in favor of the organizations as they have more important responsibilities to handle.

Firstly, businesses play a big role in the development and the well-being of the societies. Because businesses help create more jobs for the locals and also bring people to the town from all over the world who also contribute to the local economy and market. For example, big companies like Wall-Mart buy fresh vegetables and fruits from local farmers which gives a good deal to them as Wall-Mart like companies are potentially regular customers to them. Thus, the corporations thinking to start their business in a new area should not just think about making the profit but to make an equal contribution to the lives of locals.

Secondly, how corporations maintain the environmental standards also matters. To illustrate this, we can consider global warming which is a major issue for every country on this planet. If industries and factories do not limit their carbon emission, it will make the case of global warming worse. Hence, corporations should introduce policies such as the use of clean energy to avoid environmental problems.

Although the organizations may need to implement strict regulations to keep the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate, and it may slightly affect their profit, it is truly beneficial in the long run.

In summary, corporations play a very important part in the development of our society and should definitely contribute to the local economy as it will produce much better outcome than just focusing on generating a pile of money.