Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Throughout history, corporations across the globe have been a significant part of its economic activities, and, by extension, of people’s lives. The question of whether corporations are responsible for the well-being of societies and environments or should be only focused on generating profits is a controversial one in nature. However, a careful analysis of a few cases involving socially and environmentally irresponsible corporations provides insight into the importance of corporate social responsibility, also known as ‘CSR.’

First, corporations will be incentivized to externalize their losses to society as long as they remain only profit-oriented, suggesting that they should be responsible for ensuring the well-being of society and its environment. For instance, this year, a Californian company that was found to be leaking methane gas polluted its neighborhood to a detrimental degree. Some of the residents who had no choice but to escape ended up incurring the losses, including costs of moving out and receiving appropriate medical care. While these losses should in theory belong to the corporation instead of the residents, this case reveals that corporations should take into account the society and environment in which they operate. A lack of this sense of responsibility will likely cause corporations to only care about the ’bottom line,’ incentivizing them to take in all the profits while externalizing all the losses to society.

Furthermore, it is known that a number of corporations receive financial support from taxpayers in the form of, for instance, subsidies and financial packages. The world-wide financial crisis in 2008, for example, lends credence to the idea that corporations should be held responsible for the well-being of society and environment they belong to. As a result of numerous risky investments in the housing market, which resulted in one of the largest investment banks in the US went bankrupt and ended up being saved by the US government using taxpayer money. As members of society, private citizens who pay taxes should be able to expect reciprocal benefits for the money they pay. In this manner, as long as corporations are part of society in which they often benefit from its citizens, they should strive to not only do well financially but also contribute to the society and environment in which they exist.

Although the cases above clearly demonstrate the importance for corporations to commit to the well-being of society and environment they are part of, one could indeed argue that the suggested two positions are not mutually exclusive. For example, it is not uncommon that corporations, particularly as PR and marketing efforts, leverage their commitment to the betterment of society. By investing in creating a society- and environment-friendly image, corporations are more likely to better attract customers. As a result of this, while the true sole motive may be to maximize profits, corporations often engage in a number of CSR activities.

In conclusion, while there are arguments to be made for both sides, the aforementioned reckless and irresponsible behaviors by profit-driven corporations reveals that they should be cognizant of the society and environment in which they operate. After all, as the demonstrated profit motive can result in actions destructive to members of the society, the statement cannot be fully supported.