Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

We say that every individual, as a member of a society has responsibilities towards the welfare of the society. Corporations constitute amalgamation of these individuals working together to achieve a common goal. Undoubtedly, corporations are instigated with the intent of making money. But, as they form an active part of the society, they are also expected to demonstrate responsible behavior towards the society and environment in which they operate.

There is the investment of lots of financial, material and human resources in the establishment of any corporations. Hence, it is understandable that these corporations are primarily driven by monetary gain. If not for the lucrative financial aspects of the corporations, no one would bother investing in them. So, as long as these corporations are operating within the law, they are free to make as much money as possible. However, as these corporations are part of a social setting, I believe they should take active participation in the environmental and social welfare. Also, due to their large reserve of resources, they are in an appropriate position to do so. For example, in my country, banks and private business ventures are constantly involved in various social projects-- plantation by the street side, renovation and maintenance of cultural heritage sites, construction of traffic stations and bus-stands, cleanliness campaign of the major rivers flowing through the city and such. Furthermore, after the devastating earthquake of 2015, these corporations showed active participation in the programs aimed at providing relief to the quake victims. They collected large sums of donations by their independent efforts and conducted rehabilitation programs in the quake affected areas. Such involvement in social activities serves as a means to reflect the corporations' conscious effort to serve and promote well-being of the society.

Nonetheless, the corporations in a way also benefit from such acts of social welfare. People are bound to take notice of their efforts, and hence a positive image of the corporations is set up among the public which helps to boost business. A socially active corporation is usually valued by people than the one which is reclusive. A bank which gives donations to build school for the needy, appeals to peoples' heartstrings and prompts them to take their business with that bank. This is intensified by the sentiments of people, that they are contributing in some way to the cause by being associated with the bank.

To recapitulate, I concord with the first section of the statement that corporations indeed have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate, not to put up a mere show of participation but a genuine display of their conscience.