Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your position and explain your reasoning for the same. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views.

Government funding of the arts can aid in flourishing of the arts as long as it does not interfere with the functioning of the art institutions. However, in the real world, this does not happen and the government officials directly or indirectly impose their agendas on these institutions. That is why I believe that government funding threatens the integrity of the arts. The funding should be given by the government only if it can be ensured that these institutions will get to work and implement their own policies autonomously.

Government funding of the arts can result in the government pushing their own vote bank interests on the art institutions. In a democratic country like India, every government wants to please the people who vote for them so that they can retain themselves in power. So, for example, if the majority of the voters of the current government are Hindus then they may allocate more funds to the art institutions which deal with the research of the ancient Hindu scriptures. Even if they do not have power on how to allocate funds in the respective departments of an institution, they have power to appoint or remove the head of the institution and they may use this power to get the corresponding heads of the institutions to do what they want.In this way, the funding of the arts by the government directly threatens the integrity of the art. Meanwhile, this is not only unfair to the other art institutions not dealing with the topics related to Hinduism but also detrimental to them because the more talented people will run towards the institutions getting more funds.

The funding of the arts by the government can also hinder the upcoming of newer innovations and styles. Leaders of an institution form the most part of the institution. However, if they are going to implement those policies which enable them to somehow get the funds and not implement those plans which they truly envision then it affects the integrity of the arts on the whole. For instance, a professor who is in charge of research of the architecture wanted to research on the architecture of the Dravidian temples but the government is not giving money for that. Also, he needs students to work under him as interns but due to lack of funds, he is not able to provide them stipend while all the students are going for those funded projects for which they are getting paid. This way he is not able to accomplish his envisioned project resulting in the hindrance of the newer innovations. If there had not been funding for the other projects, then some students may have come to him because they would have chosen their projects totally by their interests and not by whether they were getting paid. Meanwhile, there would have been an active research in those areas which interest the various professors of the institutions leading to newer innovations rather than primarily in those areas for which the funds are allocated by the government.

However, we should not forget the bright side of the government funding. It can be used to provide scholarship to the less privileged but highly talented students who would have not been able to afford education in such institutions on their own. Also, the funding can be used by the artists who do not have resources for their research or awareness of finding people to fund them. For example, there may be a few wall paintings in a remote village which a local artist wants to study but he does not have resources to study them and also does not have awareness about who or how to contact those people or organizations who can fund him. We should not forget that there are many areas in our country which do not have internet. The government funding can come for his rescue.

Therefore, the funding by the government is beneficial for the arts and has its own advantages. If the government can let the art institutions decide by themselves how they want to use the funds, then the funds should be allocated by them but sadly, I think that the government which is such a powerful entity can use it as a tool to push their interests which may not always be beneficial for the arts and may threaten its integrity.