Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the

arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of

the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you

should address both of the views presented

When arts are being funded by the government, there is bound to be some amount of control over the content of the arts which may hamper the freedom of artists such as writers,singers,actors to express themselves, particularly if it may involve something against the authority.

Though arts even if they may be very entertaining and popular, they need money to continue and develop. And if every art form has to be made available to the poorest of poor, then it shall require monetary support from the government. But, when the government is funding these arts, it is bound to be influenced and may be even controlled by the authorities. And if so happens, then it can hamper the freedom of expression of artists such as, a writer of drama, a poet, an actor or even a stand up comedian. Thus, what the writers and poets write, actors and stand up comedians perform can be actively influenced by the government and may be controlled in entirety.

Any form of art is a powerful tool to reach the people. Many popular dramas, songs have influenced many a people lives. Histoty has many examples wherein, popular art forms have served as a medium to spread awareness and in some cases, revolutions. In some countries like India, which were ruled by colonial powers, many art forms such as dramas,plays and songs served the purpose of unifying and edifying people of different religions and castes, and bind them together to drive towards a common goal of freedom and revolution. Thus, an art is a powerful tool to influence masses and if it falls in the hands of the wrong people, even if they are the elected representatives in a democracy, it might end with bad results.

Also,one may argue that some art forms are indeed very much on the brink of extinction and thus are in a desperate need of governmental support and if such arts are not provided assistance, they might be lost. There are many examples of such cases, wherein some regional art forms, have been a symbol of history and tradition for many years and because of lack of funds, the artists and the people involved, are suffering. Support from government can act as a stimulus for such art forms. So, the stand of no governmental help to avoid their influence and interruptions, may deprive us of these historical and traditional art forms. Thus, it may seem that it is cynical to think that governmental influence is certain ,if funding done by government and such cynical point ofview may cause us to loose many valuable arts. But, again it is the dangerous implications of the if , which is, if the government starts to influence and control the art forms, that deters from seeking governmental assistance to the various art forms.

Thus, it is better off to find some other ways to help and preserve the various art forms rather than seeking government help.