Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

An effective leader is a must for growth of a nation. But predicting the effectiveness of certain decisions can be hard for a policy maker. And this arduous task is exacerbated when the opinion of public differs from the policy maker's own conclusion based on their principles. A politician may have to make descision as a policy maker which can risk their career. At the time, I believe, the best approach for a politician is to stick to their principles, because the people may not be always right. Also, the incongruity which results in the self can be deterimental for the future decision making ability. Moreover, the loudest noise could be of the minority, while the majority silently watches having faith in the elected politician.

Democracy has time and again shown to be the most effective political architecture for growth of a nation. Democracy necessarily means that the people themselves make the rules governing them, albeit indirectly, as opposed to a single person or a group of autonomous people making all the governing decisions. An elected politician principles, thus, represent the believes of the people themselves. Then in a scenario where people turn up against the decision of the politician regarding a certain policy, it could be concluded that emotions, and not reason and sacred principles, collude their judgement. For there is more pressure on a single politician to make an effective descision, then for a single person to shout in a public a reasoned argument. If a politician allows themselves to give in to the demands of the people, they are necessarily betraying the people who elected them on basis of their principles.

A writer once correctly said that the loudest voice heard in a public is of an idiot. Analogously, the loudest of the voices that a politician may hear and thus may give in to, may not be the most reasoned once. Which means that the public can't be relied on to make sound judgements regarding policies on which they are not advised by experts, unlike the politician themself.

Self reliance and confidence are very important characteristics of a politician, or a leader in general. Whenever a politician loses the confidence on their own abilities, such as of making a judgement call, it doesn't prove good for the effectiveness of the final decisions. Giving in to the external voices which do not provide strong arguments but rhetoric, like that of the general public, may lead to incongruity in the self of a politician. Such incongruity can affect both self reliance and the confidence, which can then turn them into poor leaders.

A politician not giving into the arguments of public may be said to be arrogant by some. But if arrogancy leads to efficacy, then it is not a bad thing. Others may argue how democracy necessarily means the rule of people, and thus such a politician should give in. But in democracy, rationality should not be thrown away. If not prevented by the law, a politician is not wrong in sticking to their principles. But rationality can't be guaranteed to come through the public.

An effective politician is one who stays true to his principles. Thus even in case of strong pressure from the public, a politician should rely on his own judgement making abilites. It is only in the toughest times that the core strength of a person is attested.