"Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction.

Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The statement shows two opposite views surrounding the impact of technology on human interaction --- is technology helping people to connect with each other or aliening each other? I support the point of view that technology provides new ways for connection and communication.

First of all, it is true that with the rapid development of technology, the need to meet someone in person is decreasing. In the modern working environment, email has become the major means of communication. Colleagues sitting next to each other might send emails about a collaborating project instead of standing up and walk to each other's cubicle. Partners from different organizations might use conference call to hold a meeting, eliminating the trouble to go to each other's offices. Technology allows us to exchange ideas without really "talk" to people.

However, do we have less communication? I would like to argue that we are actually having more opportunities for human interaction. For example, the expensive fees to launch an international call and the unstable signal used to prevent businessmen from working together with companies in different countries. Nowadays, it is not even a problem to gather CEOs located in four continents to meet and talk online, thanks to software programs like Skype and Google Hangout. Therefore, what was impossible has become a piece of cake. With the help of long-distance communication technology, people have more opportunities to broaden their contacts around the globe.

Some people might argue that though online communication and various applications mushroom, those are not real communication. Modern people have less face-to-face interaction opportunities and are not used to the interaction in the real world. Teenagers are so comfortable using online chat and talk to their teachers through email that they don't know how to make eye contact and how to shake hands appropriately. More and more people immense themselves in the virtual environment that they can't behave themselves decently in a party or a social networking event. The decrease of interaction in real life has impaired people's ability to socialize.

Though this argument points out some important issues with the modern technology, technology itself is not the cause. Remember that human beings still have the choice -- they can choose to walk down the hall way to talk to their colleagues or email them; they can choose to go to a party or hide behind a computer screen and chat online; they are free to attend a block party or team up with other online game players to conquer a virtual city. Technology actually broadens our horizons and allows us more chances to contacts, it is up to people how to use it.

In conclusion, I support the view that technology provides better and new ways to connect with each other. Technology does bring problems, it is people's new task to make best use of new technology.