Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realize.

What is the function of scientific discoveries? Some people believe that they give us a much better understanding of world around us, while others suppose it reveals an infinitely more complex world to us. The two sides both stand to some ground, since scientific discoveries are something so amazing that one or two simple sentences could not elucidate its meanings.

On one hand, scientific discoveries indeed expand our horizons and render us a more clear view of the society we live in. When Newton found the cause of the downward direction of almost every movement called “gravity”, he gave a beacon of hope to those who were still in the darkness of ignorance, opening a window of the rationality. Hundreds of years later, Einstein found that the principle does not correspond to objects which move in extraordinary high speed, his theory of relativity again update our realization of the world, unfettering us from the constraint of traditional physical theory. Nowadays, people have just discovered the “gravitational wave” which Einstein predicted a hundred years ago. Certainly, this great breakthrough in science pushes human’s recognization of the natural world to an even further space. If new discoveries continue to happen, then we will finally peel off the veil on the mysteries nature and get closer to the truth of the world.

On the other, with more discoveries updating our knowledge of present life, the world began to take on a more complicated appearance than we ever thought. In ancient times,when came to the origin of the world and human-beings, people just believed in the tale of the God, who created the world in seven days, and the story of Adam in Eden. However, as the science developed, Darwin raised the evolution theory which cast doubt on the justification of the legends. Although it seemed a shame to reduce people to the relatives of monkeys, people gradually accepted his theory. The process of evolution is much more complex than the former tale, and the details and expansion of the theory are still being studied by many biological scientists. By numerous experiments and hypothesis, modern people come to realize the similarities between human and many other species , which render us a deeper understanding of ourselves, while at the same time display a more complex, even abstruse world.

It is difficult to make a distinct description of what scientific discoveries have brought to us, are they clearing the mist of the world, or they just add up to the mysteries? For different people, answers may vary. For us common people who do not devote into the field of scientific area, we may be likely to hold that these discoveries make us more clear about the world we live in, since we have been enlightened by those great discoveries in centuries.However, for those scientists, especially who work in the frontier of advanced subjects,such discoveries may bring about many other questions which demand deeper explorations. For example, a scientist who discoveries a lifeless planet similar to earth would not stop at the point, instead he may continue to find the possible explanations for its lack of life .The discrepancies occur by virtue of a scientific inquiry spirit, which contributes to the ceaseless development of science.

In sum, almost all scientific discoveries work from two sides, one is to clear away the prejudice or false preconception entrenched in our minds, the other is to show the truthfulness of the natural world, which is far more complicated than we have ever thought.