Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.Write a response in which you

In the argument, the author raises two counter viewpoints to the study of science with one proposing that science has helped us answer questions and the other contending that science has actually raised more questions than it has answered. The two views seem to run parallel to each other with their inherent beliefs being so vagrant as to have little scope of intersection, however it is this converge that I wish to support and would be using examples from various fields of science to bolster my argument.

As human beings become older, their questions about various aspects of their life are not quenched but merely altered or evolved. Questions such as “if the earth is round why does water not fall off?” that perplex a kid are no longer pondered upon by adults as their understanding of the theory of gravitation provides a lucid explanation for this conundrum. However as the person becomes older, more existential questions enamor him and his cognitive functions become engaged in answering those. The same is true for science as well. Today we are more conversant about matter and its workings in governing how the world functions, than our ancestors and from an absolute dependence on nature we can today predict earthquakes to ensure that minimum damage to human life and property is suffered.

However despite the advances in science and voyages to outer space, scientists are still in a quandary over the elements of the universe and over 96% of these components comprising of dark matter and dark energy are unbeknownst to us. The implications of this could change everything we know of thus far, from our perspective of physics to the study of astronomy and the perpetual deliberations on Armageddon that besot us.

Science has also opened up several possibilities which have more direct bearing on humans than the question of when the world would end. Progress in the field of investigative sciences have impelled us closer to meting out a somewhat ‘divine’ form of justice with the guilty now having higher likelihood of getting persecuted and an innocent higher acclivity of getting absolved. The case against Bruce Ivins, the accused in the anthrax letter attacks highlights the power of science to acquit even a deceased person wrongly implicated. On the other hand debate surrounding the acquittal of Amanda Knox have raised questions regarding the excessive reliance on science, the workings of the human mind involved in such heinous crimes and the psychology of the jury who has been accused of being dispensed towards the accused because of her looks.

As famously said, “change is the only constant”. The world is constantly evolving and our changing interactions with this dynamic world create more flux. Theories which were earlier believed to be true, have been disproved now and more complex questions have taken their stead. In psychology, for instance, it was believed that our behavior was exclusively determined by our experiences and memories and this theory was accepted until very recently. For someone wanting to control the behavior of his or her child this presented a controlled scientific experiment. But the knowledge of genetics and the interplay of genes in determining aspects of personality have added a new dimension to this equation making it less controlled.

These dualities can be witnessed in every aspect of science and the questions about every aspect of our life abound perhaps because we are more enlightened today. As the world evolves the questions and answers to those questions also need to undergo transformation, the quest for perfect enlightenment is akin to the quest for the holy grail, it is something we aspire for but in reality it could just be a myth.