Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Education is a very important aspect of our lives since it influences our jobs, our behaviour, our values and overall our role in the society at large. Hence it is crucial that children are shown the right path and taught to differentiate between the good and the bad early on in their schooling ages. Whereas some believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education, others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society. It is indeed quite difficult to completely adhere to and adopt only one of these views.

It is agreeable that teaching morality in schools would shape the child into a disciplined person, who respects morals and follows decent conduct. But it goes too far to say that morality should be the very foundation of education. It is not hard to imagine what it would be like if schools taught largely moral education in their classes without much emphasis on subjects like language, mathematics and science. Sure, the child would be very strong in morals but to survive in the world it's not only morals that are sufficient, isn't it? The child should have sufficient knowledge in language and the sciences so that he/she can take up skilled jobs and make a living.

Also, believing that the teaching logical reasoning would result in shaping a moral society seems quite illogical in itself. Morals do not necessarily follow from sound logic. Imagine a person who has terrific logic skills, able to solve problems and arrive at decisions based on precise logical reasoning. How can it be said with certainty that such a person is moral in behaviour? He/she might be a rude, arrogant and haughty person whose mannerisms are grossly inappropriate. He/she might be a habitual liar, a sadist or a person who simply doesn't respect others. In that scenario, quite clearly, his logical skills has failed to shape his/her values and by generalising to a larger section of people, doesn't aid in the creation of a moral society.

From a deeper look at the viewpoints presented, it can be seen that both are quite incomplete and fail to recognise what would ultimately lead to a moral yet thriving society. Therefore, the ideal position regarding the matter at hand is a mix of both views. Education should be based on teaching both logical reasoning and moral values in approximately equal proportions. Teaching morality would aid in instilling in the child the right values that would be necessary for the well-being of society. On the other hand, logic would help in progress of the society intellectually and bring prosperity.