Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Education is an important part of life. It is necessary,to develop values, skills and grow as an individual. Morality of an individual is a subjective topic,as in it depends on the individual and varies from person to person. Indisputably,the argument that teaching morality must be the foundation of education is thoughtful, but too far-fetched. Logical reasoning on the other hand is the most useful skill that should be the basis of education. Logical reasoning helps develop all-around personality of an individual, that also helps produce a moral society.

Logical reasoning skills can be used in any situation in life.Logical reasoning allows a person a person to analyze the situation,weigh the pros and cons and then take a decision that might prove beneficial in all aspects. For example,doctors are faced with challenges that involve assessing the situation where the patients' life is at stake.The doctors should analyze the risks,cause and effects of their action and decide their course of action that proves helpful to the patients.

Whereas a morally right person will always think in terms of moral values, though not always wrong,he might end up making decisions that could not be effective. Lets consider a situation where a person is being interviewed for a job that requires him to have reasoning and analytical skills. If the person was taught to have moral values all through his/her life, giving little importance to the other skills,he/she might not succeed in getting that job.

Admittedly, moral values are essential for living. In some cases being morally right can have desired effects.But life cannot be led solely based on moral values.

Education being a driving force in imparting knowledge to people,should have a firm foundation based on logical reasoning, with moral values also taught.