Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

Young minds are impressionable entities, capable of being moulded in early years. This puts the responsibility on the societies shoulder to help the child grow through its formative years into adulthood by imparting it with suitable education. Thus, teaching a foundation of logical reasoning is one such way to build develop future generation in face of the several advantages it provides.

Firstly, when we are positioned with question of the kind of teachings that should make up the educational foundation, it becomes a challenge deciding between the moral and the logical education. However, considering the trade-offs between the two, the logical education holds higher ground given that it is relatively unbiased and enables one to make decisions which are generally better for the society as the whole. To illustrate this point, consider the case World War I, where the island nation Japan was defeated thereby halting the political juggernaut it had become. Japan's ambitions surpassed the moral grounds as it went on a rampage to conquer every nation it possibly could. Had the contesting countries restricted their efforts to prevent Japan from conquering the world on moral grounds (and hence not bombing the nation), the world might have not been the same as we see it today. It was the logic that helped countries triumph over Japan, thus resulting the development of the peaceful Japan as we know today. Thus, logical thinking fares better as it enables one to take faster and more informer decisions compred to moral ones, which involve a lot of deliberation.

Secondly, logical reasoning is essential for technological advancement, which the moral education fails to provide. The unrestrained prowess of the logical mind has changed the world , evolving over years, and is in fact growing exponentially since 2000. Again, in this case, the logical mind (and hence a more knowledgeable mind) exhibited the capacity of humans to go beyond the imaginable and develop innovations which we couldn't have imagined few years back. From the Artificial intelligence to Site-specific gene editing techniques, the world has made great strides in this space. again, the moral education doesn't appear to feature anywhere in assiting this advancement.

However, moral teachings comes with its own merits as it allows us to become more compassionate human, capable of empathising with other beings. Further, morality can't be all eliminated, lest we humans transform into robots incapable of emotions , simply performing our duties running on a logical mind. But, again, we need to understand that the pace at which human race is growing, the moral education might not help as much as the logical teaching because weare in greater need to equip our children with tools (or thinking) to connect disparate entities. In fact, it comes more to the survival of our race in face of the several challenges that the earth faces. to combat such problem, again, a foundation of logical education would better position the young generation in creating advances to foster our race.

Thus, to conclude, logical reasoning should become the focus of education as it provides it with benefits which the moral education lacks- expansive thinking and fostering innovation. Humans being social animals are already designed to exhibit moral attitude in life and may not really need to be impressed upon with moral teachings, as it comes naturally to us.