Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

Human history is filled with various political views. Great thinkers such as Plato or Karl Marx had their ideal of how politics should work and firmly believed human civilization should move towards their ideal. However, these ideal may be contradicted to each other, results in fighting between parties holding different views. Moreover, urgent current issue like poverty, sanitation, starvation, are also usually not compatible with those ideals and requires compromise from all groups involved. I believe the pursuit of an ideal is always the motivation to the prosperity of human race, while reaching common ground and compromises are often the pragmatic method to achieve this goal.

In history, great philosophers and politicians advocated various theories on how human society and government should evolve and develop. Plato, ancient Greek philosopher, believed that ideal kingdom should lead by philosopher king. Karl Marx, eminent thinker in 20th century, claimed that communism is the goal human society should aim for and capitalism was built on exploiting of working class. Modern countries also adopted the various form of democracy, which certainly have its merits and shortcomings. In certain period in history, these theories served as guidance leading progressive advancement of our civilization. Furthermore, ordinary people advocates their politics ideals such as feminism, eradicating discrimination towards sexual orientation, race, and age. Either theories of political system or proposition from a group of people may represent an ideal worth striving for.

When these theories or opinion are compatible, politicians would easily work together aiming for the common goal. Nonetheless, there are cases where they are drastically contradicted. We have seen cold war between Communism and Capitalism in the past century. As the development of human civilization, new political views often tried to supplant old political views, resulting in war in extreme cases. These wars brought enormously pain to the people involved. In these cases, reaching to a common ground will largely diminish the disaster brought on these countries.

Even we temporally forget the fighting between different political ideals, there are tensions within one government under the same political system. Providing more job to industrial workers might be contradicted to the need of environmentalist. Offering unisex toilet for the right of transgender people worries parents since attacker might exploiting these policies. In these situations, insisting on any form of ideal would not be the most rational decision. Taking a small step at each time might not be the most effective way to meet our expectation on a new policy. However, these might be the cost we must take to translate ideal to realization. Discussion and compromising would be the most reasonable method a government can undertake.

Overall, pursuit of an ideal will always be the motivation of the politicians in any government. However, to achieve this ideal, we must communicate to different ideas and reach the common ground, even though adopting these methods will slower the progress of development. Insisting on one specific ideal would do harm to all parties involved in the issue.