Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The statement argues that movie stars and sports stars should set a good example, or act as a role model for young people who look up to them. The statement claims that because they are paid millions of dollars, they should be expected to fulfil this societal responsibility. First and foremost, it is important to define what constitutes a "role model" in the context of this passage. It will be assumed for this essay that a "role model" is one that does not engage in behaviours that are generally and morally accepted as "wrong". These behaviours may include the use of hard drugs, promiscuity, a...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.