Strong beliefs prevent people from thinking clearly about issues

A belief is a set of thoughts held by an individual regarding a particular thing. The beliefs that we hold are a result of our upbringing, surroundings and other influences. The beliefs are deeply rooted in our personalities from childhood and changing them at later stages in life is a challenging task. But these beliefs prevent individuals from thinking outside their minds , and visualize the bigger picture.

We have many examples from history wherein the people strongly believed the Church and its teachings about the sun revolving around the earth. The people blindly followed the teachings of the Church without questioning about the authenticity of its teachings. It was then Galileo opposed this and proved that it’s the earth which revolves round the sun. The people obsequious to their initial beliefs found this hard to accept. They could not open their minds to see the other side of the coin. This in turn led to killing of Galileo for going against the church.

Today we see newspapers flooded with news on rape of young girls and elder women. A woman being raped is socially stigmatized. The woman is considered to be at fault. While blaming the woman, people turn a blind eye towards the real culprit. Rape is a very serious social issue and a solution needs to be found out for addressing it. Instead, people are so busy denigrating the poor lady, that they don’t give attention to the solution to address the issue.

In India, in the olden days there existed sati pratha : a religious practice in which a woman who has been widowed was forced to be burnt on pyre along with her husband. People believed that the woman had no right to live after her husband has died. They never thought about the poor lady who had to die for no particular reason. Though over time, this practice has been banished, such reformations are a result of many years of somebody’s effort to convince the people that it is a unnecessary action.

So I would like to conclude that the deep rooted beliefs can make individuals biased and blind them towards the other possibilities of addressing the issue. They might not believe that there is a different side to the coin and stay in ignorance.