Students would do well to arm themselves with scientific knowledge - literature, philosophy and the arts serve no purpose in the real world.

Technology today is leading the world. It is not just a term but something our lives have started to depend on. Everything we do today, from waking up to going back to sleep is dependent on various technologies. From using mobile phones for instant communication, to commuting everyday from one location to another, Internet for instant access to anything and everything in the world.

However, the author suggests that only scientific knowledge is important and other fields such as Literature, Philosophy and arts serve no purpose in real world. I believe, the author here makes an unfair generalization regarding the same. Let’s further explore this subject. Literature, Art and History have played a very important part in shaping our present and the future. History gives a background of how the humans begin to develop technologies in the first place. Without historical evidence, creating new things cannot be possible.

As an example let’s take fossils. They are historical evidences that provide knowledge of existence of say, dinosaurs or any other creature. Studying about their past provides a window to discover new scientific theories related to them. Paleontology for instance is a branch of Historical science where both go hand in hand. The study of Art is equally important for Students to know about the past culture and heritage of our existence. Art has been present since the Stone Age. It was one of the forms that humans learned to represent their thoughts and an example that mankind existed before the advent of technology.

Technology and Science have no doubt paved a way for improvement and development for humans and made our lives easier and simpler. However, it has also made us victims of own progress. People have become so dependent on technology that, imagining our lives without it for even an hour is unimaginable. For instance, People are so busy staying connected virtually over the internet, or any other technology that they are incapable of appreciating the aesthetic qualities of life. People are busy gazing into the future and building futuristic gadgets.

It is necessary to take some time off and appreciate other aspects and learn more about them. We need to realize that we cannot build a better future without proper knowledge of the past.Technology is important but I feel Art , Literature and History are equally important aspects of mankind and students need to study and know about science and art both and at the end of the day it is their decision to study whatever captures their interest.