Success in any realm of life comes more often from taking chances or risks than from careful and cautious planning."

Success is subjective, it means different for different people. And hence the way it can be achieved varies with your goal. For example, if creating huge amount of money is success for you; then you have to take risk. Because it is difficult to generate that kind of money without taking risk. By risk i mean calculated one.

On the other hand, If you follow different approach I.e. planning. Planning suites certain kind of goals; which takes perseverance. For example, if success is to achieve some objective; IAS officer or to serve your country; you need proper planning and then execute your plan step by step to achieve your goal. It cannot be done through risk taking.

There might be some situations where success might require both of the approach es. Sometimes you require both planning and leap of faith. For Example, consider a situation where an employee is stuck with a Job he doesn’t like. He wants to follow his passion say photography. But, he is not sure that he will make large money in that profession. Despite that, he knows he will be happy following his passion. For him this defines success. Having done all the planning, he still requires leaf of faith. Taking that might change his life.

So, through above situations I want to convey that approach for success depends upon how you define success; it is not hard coded. Sometimes two approach are mutually exclusive, while sometimes you need both.