Success in any realm of life comes more often from taking chances or risks than from careful and cautious planning."

Success is subjective; it is different for different people. And hence there can be various approach of accomplishing it. For example, if creating huge amount of money is success for you then you have to take risk. Because it is difficult to generate that kind of money without taking risk. By risk i mean calculated one.

On the other hand, take another approach i.e. planning. Planning suites certain kind of goals; goals that require perseverance. For example: For someone success is to achieve some objective; say becoming an IAS officer or to serve his country. These goals require hard work and persistence. And you need proper planning to execute these goals. Mere erratic decisions or say calculated risk won't do the work here.

As of now I have discussed the approach that were working independently. However, there are some instances where you need both planning and risk taking. Consider a situation where an employee is stuck with a monotonous Job which he doesn’t like. He wants to follow his passion which is photography. But he is unsure of his decision; as he is not sure whether he will be able to make large money that he is making in his current job. However, he will be much happier following his passion. For him pursuing his passing defines success. Having done all the planning, he still requires leaf of faith.

So, through above situations I want to convey that approach for success depends upon how you define success; it is not hard coded. Sometimes two approach are mutually exclusive, while sometimes you need both.