The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The assertion that the surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its scientists, rulers or artists but by the general welfare of its people is controversial. One cannot deny the fact that country's development or how country is viewed worldwide is measured by the condition in which the people are living in it but many times country is also known by its fearsome leaders, artists, scientists or many other personalities which make country proud at the international level.

I do assert up to some extent with the given statement but not completely. But looking deeper down the statement one can say that nation's pride also exist in the feats achieved by the artists, scientists, or sportspersons and many others. For instance a country is always remembered by its number of medals the country's sportspersons are able to win at the Olympics. A country is always remembered by it leading personalities like Gandhi from India made the nation proud by spreading his act of Ahimsa or Nonviolence worldwide and today many nations see him as an ideal of peace. No matter how good are the students in a class but the class is always remembered by the name of the topper. Similarly nation is always remembered by the achievements by its artists or other leading personalities.

However, only accomplishments of the persons of a country are not always that matters the most in order to view the nation as being a great. Nation's development is also scrutinized by the people's condition residing in the country no matter how big are the achievements of the people, they are of use if the people of that country are living in a poor conditions or unhealthy environment. Nation's growth is estimated by its people's welfare. Big achievements of the people are of no use until they help or serve their own countrymen. Scientists could help a lot by teaching the young students of the motherland for free, sportsperson could teach them the sports, doctors could provide free treatment, and businessman could provide help in terms of money like providing shelters and many more things.

Therefore, it would be an extreme statement to say that only general people's welfare is the surest indicator of a great nation. Its artists also contributes to the development of a nation and for a nation to be great, its people should work together in order to build a great nation.