The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a sucess of a country when it produces brilliant minds who contribute for the benefit of the nation and the world. These people, whether it be rulers, scientists or artists, certainly indicate the greatness of a country because it shows that the country has provided them the platform to achieve their brilliance. However, for me, the best way to access the greatness of the country lies in how the country has treated its citizens. Therefore, agree to the above statement that genral welfare of the people is the best measure of a country's greatness.

The most integral part of the country is its citizens. Without the citizens, a nation is merely an area marked by geographical boundaries. It is the citizens that define the identity of the country. Surely, the luminaries, too, contibute hugely in defining what the country is about. However, it is the culture, the norms and the values of the people that defines the identity of the country, and it is embeded in the genral people and not just the achievers. Therefore, the way in which a country treats its people is imperative in identifying the greatness of the country.

There are many nations that produce some exceptional people but are unfair to its citizens. For example, we often find nationals that are extemely autocratic and supress the basic freedom and rights of people but are still able to produce sucessful people because of the adantage the aristocracy has bestowed upon those sucessful people. For me, these nations cannot be deemed as great. Since, even when producing great achievers, the general people, who are the defining part of the nation, cannot be happy or cannot take pride about the nation and its achievers, these achievements are futile when it comes to judging the greatness of the nation.

I acknowledge the fact that a country can be impoverished because of circumstances that are beyond the control of the country itself. In this case, it is really difficult for the nation to maintian welfare among its denizens. If a country is facing such situation and evn then if it is able to produce brilliant achievers, it is a sucess of the nation. Therefore, there are conditions where the truth of the above statement does not apply. However, as long as the country has ample resources and ability to maintain welfare among its general citizen, it has to maintain that welfare if it is to be called a great nation.

To conclude, the achievers do signify the greatness of the country, but it is the welfare of the people that matters the most, as they are the ones who make the nation what it is. Thus, I agree to the above statement while conceding that achievers are also important and do indicate the greatness of a nation.