The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the measure of a great nation is by the achievements in different fields or by its people's welfare. Indisputably, welfare may be an indication of people's conveniences in a nation. Nevertheless, the developed nations are usually known by the number of achievements in different fields. Thus, I would argue that the general welfare cannot be considered the surest indicator of a great nation and would argue that a great nation is the one who has a bigger number in contributions in different fields.

First of all, the bigger number of contributions of a nation, the more expectation of knowledge spread among people in that nation. I would like to point out that the country who give the education the first priority, it should get talents people in different fields. To illustrate further, let us look at the example of developed country like U.S.A. and another developing one like Egypt. In the first one, you can find a big support to the education and research. In contrary with the second one, A poor support to the education. In this circumstance, significant contribution and big number of achievement of the first country's rulers, artists, and scientists.

Furthermore, a great nation can be defined the nation who helps a lot in developing human's life. Look at different aspects of life, its scientists make a good innovation and have new discoveries. Artists invent new ways to make people enjoy their life. Both common sense and personal experience have told us the great nation people are always productive then other nations people.

On the other hand, welfare may be an indicator of how people have facilities in their life. But it can't be an indicator of the greatness of a nation. For instance, Golf countries have a lot of money that help them to get all luxuries in their lives. They are wealthy and importing other nations technology or achievements to help them. One cannot consider them as great nations. They are dependent on others.

In conclusion, although the welfare may be importnat for people to live well, it cannot be considered as an indicator of a great nations. the greatness is measured by how this nation present to others.