The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

How is a nation classified as great? Does this classification depend on the achievements of the rulers, scientists and artists that the nation has produced or does it depend on the satisfaction and happiness of the citizens of the nation? It is evident that a nation can be termed as a great nation based on how successful it is on producing illustrious leaders, rulers, artists and scientist. Therefore, individual achievements can be regarded as surest indicator of a great nation.

When a great nation refers to one which defeats numerous surrounding countries and has much territory, the surest indicator of a great nation could be represented by achievements of its rulers. Alexander the Great is an excellent example of this point. The greatest achievements of Alexander the Great are not only numerous victories in battle but also the establishment of Macedon, one of the largest empires of the ancient world. The rise of Macedon can hardly be achieved without great leadership of Alexander the Great.

While if the greatness is based on Technology and cultural achievements then, the achievements of artists and scientists may serve as the surest indicator of a great nation. Take ancient China for instance. A majority of people in different parts of the world think ancient China was one of the greatest nation at that time largely because the technology and arts were both advanced and prosperous compared to other countries. The achievements of artists and scientists, ranging from beautiful vases to the invention of compass and printing skills, made great contributions to Asia as well as Europe. Therefore, instead of the general welfare of its people, the achievements of artists and scientists represent the surest signal of a great nation.

In contrast, some people put more focus on welfare of people when they consider the country to qualify as a great nation. Imagine, like Macedon and ancient China in which large amounts of people live poor lives whereas only aristocrats leading luxurious lives, these countries can hardly be regarded as great nations regardless of what accomplishments their rulers, artists or scientists make. A great nation, in some sense, must ensure its people have equal rights, lead decent lives and enjoy favorable welfare.

In sum, welfare of people is one of the factor necessary for a country to be called as great but, the individual achievements will surely indicate greatness of a nation.