In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits,

however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water

and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that

reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the

assumptions prove unwarranted.

I think argument has many unstated assumption that are flawed and if they do not hold true, can falter the decision of the government to devote more money in this year's budget to river side

recreational activities.

First assumption is that survey was taken recently and majority of the people were inolved in the decision. Now, if the survey was taken a long time ago and in the mean time the preference of people for

water sports has changed. Then, the state would be in a loss. Since people would not do water sports and hence giving loss to the state. Also what if only rich people voted for the decision and other

people were not in favour of the water sports. Then also state would be in state of loss. Because how many people are rich and how many are poor are not mentioned. Thus, until the people' preference and who of all were involved in the decision are not mentioned, it would be foolish to take decision.

Second assumption is that after the river is cleaned it will increase the water sports in the city. What are various factors that the city has considered to reach this decision? Suppose people are claiming to

clean the river to make their city look clean or they are just disturbed by the smell and litter. If this is the case then allocating the budget for the water sports is not justified. So until and unless state

mention its factor to reach this decision. It is difficult to take decision.

Third assumption is that, state is asumming river will not be dirtied again and increasing the bugdet would make the river clean. As mentioned in the question, that state has been allocating funds for the

river and it is only now state is planning to increase the funds for the river. What if people are careless and throw litter in the river and making it dirty, even after the river has been cleaned. So, until

the laws are not stringent they will keep doing that.

Following are the assumption that has been assumed, and until these assumption are not stated clearly in the argument, it is difficult to take decision.